Skip to main content
HomeOur History

Our History

League of Women Voters: 100 Years Strong! 

The League of Women Voters of the United States was founded in 1920 during the convention of the National Woman Suffrage Association. The convention was held just six months before women won the right to vote through ratification of the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution.




The League of Women Voters of Colorado was organized in 1928.

Colorado women had won the right to vote in 1893. Colorado was the first state in which the male electorate approved woman suffrage by popular election.




The League of Women Voters of Boulder County was formed in 2007 by the merger of the LWV of Longmont, founded in 1965, and the LWV of Boulder Valley (LWVBV). The LWV of (the city of) Boulder (LWVB), founded in 1931, was the first local League in Colorado. In 1984 the LWVB expanded eastward to become the LWVBV, which covered the same area as the Boulder Valley School District (BVSD), including Louisville and Lafayette. Since the formation of the LWV of Boulder County in 2007, members have studied and taken action on issues in Boulder County and its municipalities and in both school districts, BVSD and St. Vrain Valley School District.

  • Read the History of the LWVBC 
  • Watch and read online oral histories of LWVBC leaders. The Maria Rodgers Oral History program of the Boulder Public Library has produced interviews with: Sue Anderson, Joyce A. Davies, Elizabeth A. Nick, Barbara Anuta, Deborah HayesGail C. Rowe, Elizabeth Black, Patricia Johnson, Leona R. Stoecker, Mary K. Blue, Zoe Menkick McCollum, Lynne Wegley, Janet S. Roberts and Ruth Correll
  • View the She Is Me photojournalism project for LWV Colorado, which was compiled by LWVBC member Hannah Crowe and features profiles of four LWVBC members: Rossana Longo Better, Jeanine Pow, Molly Saunders and Shiquita Yarbrough.